Listen

New Feel-Good Album; Temples- Sun Structures

I guess this is one of the surprisingly rare times when I just click with an album. The Temples EP was introduced to me by someone whose taste in music has always been an inspiration for me. I remember liking it back then, but now that the whole new album, Sun Structures was released, I’m completely mesmerized.

There are a few defining words that plenty of people try to define Temples through that I will be careful to stay away from. These words include “Beatles-inspired”, “psychedelic rock,” that critics tend to use too definitively.  Not to disregard the fact that Temples does define as a “neo-psychedelic pop band,” but assigning them a genre box like this Pitchfork review did is painful to read. One of the most prevalent reviews of Temples was that they sounded just like the Beatles- and here is what the band has to say about that non-original comment: “We don’t tend to read the reviews, although if we see something positive in a magazine or whatever then we stick it up. Sometimes they’re interesting to read, but if it mentions The Beatles in the first paragraph you tend to put it down!”

Here are my feelings on this addicting album. As much as their music came naturally to Temples 1.5 years ago, this album is very natural, almost positively amateur, and showcases the band’s  authentic taste in music. Mentioning the Byrds, Pink Floyd, and Kraftwerk as their main inspirations, Temples follows in the footsteps of the legends while courageously adding novel sounds into their music. Over and over again Temples gives me an Aladdin-like feel, something that I have been trying to put my finger on for a while, especially the track The Golden Throne. Diversely enough, A Question Isn’t Answered for some reason reminds me of Norway, Ireland, and the Departed soundtrack (specifically, I’m Shipping Up To Boston by Dropkick Murphys.) 

Even on the darkest, snowiest day of the year, Temples can make me hopeful and excited with its vibrant  songs. Every time I listen to Sun Structures I’m pulled back into the present time in the best possible way- I forget everything else. Today, after I had waited for a bus in the snow storm for 40 minutes only to find out that my night class was cancelled, and  that I was rejected from a job, some good happy hour beer and the Temples Sun Structures album was my solution to end this snowy and dreadful day.

It is very difficult for me to say which songs are the best on this album, as I am completely taken with the whole masterpiece. You can find the full album from my Grooveshark link at the bottom of this article. I’ll just list some of the ones that I find myself listening to over and over again:

 

*However, I suggest you to listen to the whole album if you want the whole experience. You can listen to the whole album from my Grooveshark link.

“When a song is not easy to kind of, listen to the first time you hear it, but then once you get it, you really get it. We’re big fans of music like that.”

Their favorite inspirational records:

  • Pink Floyd, A Saucerful of Secrets: Especially the track Remember A Day end to remind me of Temples.
  • The Byrds, Notorious Byrd Brothers 
  • Kraftwerk, Kraftwerk
Leave a Reply

